5 Tips For Any Workshop

continuous improvement is better than delayed perfection it’s a quote Mark Twain said several years ago and I could not agree with this more this is my third shop third yes my third shop and so far. I’ve been here a little more than a year and have moved stuff around several times if you’ve watched my videos previously probably see that it looks a little bit different now than what it did in olestra deal but anyway the point for me to move your stuff moved to lay out around is to gain a little bit of an edge here gain a little bit of efficiency here and because everything’s on wheels and castors it’s really not much effort at all to move stuff around so it’s not like. I’m making major major shop changes just trying to continuously improve the efficiency and the workflow so today. I want to walk you through five things that. I found to increase my shop efficiency and productivity to the first one of our dimension just a second ago and is probably the most beneficial for anybody in a non professional shop environment and that is to keep everything mobile keep everything on mobile basis on casters and that allowing you to obviously change things as needed and Jordan needs as your shopping needs change, also if you don’t have a dedicated space to where you can leave your tools out at all times it’s obviously beneficial to be able to move all the tools away so you could use that shop space as its otherwise neither the second thing is to have all of your commonly used items open and visible and preferably within arm’s reach of. where they’re going to be used so basically any working environment has multiple layers of storage and used in a way that its most work items that aren’t used often it’s ok if their little inconvenient to access to all of my lower drawer storage here at my mother’s on station isn’t incredibly convenient because yet been so far over so that is a long term storage advancing from that is my waist high doors that are easily accessible and you can easily see down inside them and more convenient than that is all of my stuff that. I use all the time that is open and visible to use the miter saw as an example what are you most commonly going to be using at the miter saw its are a tape measure of some kind a pencil safety glasses hearing protection maybe you will use a square reference lines everything is right here within an arm’s reach over where you’re going to be working at something that. I really found to be beneficial to have right next to my result is some type of setup clip or hold your cut list as you’re working that way it’s all right here as usual working to go over hunted down and you just go through all of your cuts as needed the vast majority of us use a drill and driver and our workflow so keeping them readily available is quite obvious but what do you use with a line-drive are most often and keep that right next to the actual drilling driver, so I grabbed my driver. I’ve got access to one of the most commonly used bits that I use and as. I grab want to grab the other two as needed and as I returned them. I can return them both in the same spot this remains empty and . I got here is to again readily accessible to your drill two different countersink bit it’s always keep too because if you only have one than that one is going to break when you need to use good to have a backup and at that point if you’re going to have to you might as. We’ll have them set to different depths so you never have to adjust these really finicky allen screws that are in these Christmas, so I pretty much always have one set to a half-inch or three quarter inch material and then one for about one and a half inch material can always grab one as. I’m grabbing the drill and it’s just very convenient seems to be working out really. We’ll and that is to group tools to overlap the Dead Space pretty much every single to the side and not using the tools of the Devils are you using the right side of the table saw right because there’s always going to be the defense in the way so you know whether using that space kind of dead space on the bandsaw pushing stuff to the front side or pulling stuff through the back side and a standing off to the right side you never using this back left base same thing with a plan on putting something on the Indian side quantum stuff on the opposite side and standing to this to access the height adjustment they’re using this side of the player they are to the right of the tables. I was never really assembly or working space anyway so overlapping Deadpool space allows me to keep my planner at all times which is an added to pound player, so I ’ve realized that picking up every time, you use it is really becoming so get out is very beneficial the bandsaw is not interfering with the maximum capacity of the campus all because the bottom door instead maybe half an inch or so from the maximum capacity there was also there is no interference with any one of these tools and this is also removing the ban soldiers also cleared up an entire wall meets you add another tool to the shop . I’m forced to go vertical stack of tools whatever possible this is a shot back and so close up photos taken off just about as much space on the floor as he shot back just a little bit more than that doesn’t necessarily have to be you could have a flip-top systems are seeing a lot of laptop carts that had the top flips over if you have a benchtop planer mounted on the other side to tools footprint taking up a lot less so lastly utilize high wall storage space for items that you can’t necessarily throw away but don’t need to access anytime soon so this shop is actually a two-car garage attached to my house so what ends up happening is lot of the stuff that. We don’t need all the time like the Christmas tree or a cooler and some lawn chairs it ends up getting in my shop and I don’t want that to be taking up working space so having a spot to put this put items up and out of the way is very beneficial pulling shelf on my back wall and it actually made about my garage door some similar shows as. We’ll so utilizing wasted space is very beneficial especially when you go vertical with it and others lot of you out there that already have some workflow efficiency or storage solution tips and tricks that you like to share so please leave them in the comments section below so always can learn from that hopefully you’re able to get something out of this video and I ’m about to start in the next dimensional lumber furniture project so talk to you later thanks for watching .

some Best tool for you

Leave a comment